A Night At The Circus

So the other day my wife and I found ourselves at the Big Apple Circus that was taking place at Patriot Park in Bridgewater, NJ. Although a one ring circus, I found it to be quite entertaining. From a photography standpoint it presented the challenge of “NO Flash Photography allowed.” I kind of thought this might be the case so I had already went with the mindset of using my 70-200mm f/2.8. I knew it would be good in low light as well as getting things close enough for a decent shot. Staying at ISO 800 most of the night and sitting in the second row was a good combo. Some of the best face/head shots of the night had to be timed to the end of a performance when they would hit the talent with the spotlight or all the lights would come up to full power. I stayed in manual mode jumping from 1/60, 1/80, 100 and at times 1/125. Aperture moving from f/2.8 to f/5.6 and ISO 800.

The clowns had pulled a young boy from the audience to be in a skit. The boy Andrew was awesome and got right into it. During the intermission I found Andrew’s father, gave him my card and told him I had some good shots of Andrew and to connect with me and I would email them to him. He did just that and I received a wonderful email thanking me for the photos.

Here are some shots of Andrew

Leave a Reply

