The Candid Shot

1/50 Sec f/5.6 ISO 200 200mm

1/50 Sec f/5.6 ISO 200 200mm

The candid shot. Sometimes one of the best kinds of photography. I say sometimes… because it does not come with a guarantee. For me the candid shot comes best when a person is just doing what they normally would be doing at the moment of capture. Most times they do not even know the camera is there or if I have been around the subject long enough they have forgotten about the camera. Forgetting about the camera is not easy for everyone and for others the camera is like… “what camera? Oh yeah the camera.”

So for todays subject it was a little of both. She is not intimidated by the camera whatsoever, and she had been around me everyday for two weeks while I was visiting in Thailand. She was engrossed in doing something that required concentration, but she had that feeling she just needed to look away from what she was doing. Not knowing I was standing several feet away, she just happened to look away from what she was doing and straight into the lens.  And I must say it does not get any easier than that. A luck shot? Maybe.

As crazy as it sounds I have painstakingly practiced this method  of waiting for the person to look up at just the right moment. Yes that’s right practiced. It is not something I set out to do, but rather something that just kind of happened. Back in my point & shoot days when my photography was young, like most I would carry my trusty Canon A640 everywhere. I do a lot of hiking and outdoors walking, and of course I always have Snuggs. For those who know me personally, know Snuggs travels everywhere with me. But she like most dogs, and cats too is camera shy. It really has nothing to do with the camera, just the fact that you have something in front of your face and you’re pointing it at her. Some have a theory that the lens looks like an eye and bothers the animal. Either way in my neverending quest to capture a nice face shot of Snuggs I would have to wait it out. All photographers have a muse in the beginning. For most it is their children or other family members, but for me it was Snuggs. So overtime I got use to this waiting game. And like I stated at the beginning of this post, there is no guarantee you will get anything. So always have a plan B. What that is I don’t know, but it sounds good.

Images Digitally Watermarked by Digimarc | Get More Information on How to Digitally Watermark ImagesImages on the website have been digitally watermarked with ownership and usage information. Digimarc and the Digimarc logo are registered trademarks of Digimarc Corporation. The “Digimarc-Enabled” Web Button is a trademark of Digimarc Corporation, used with permission.

Leave a Reply

