Jessie

Shot in available light on a Canon T1i with an EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS II USM    1/50 sec at f/2.8 ISO 200 190mm

Shot in available light on a Canon T1i with an EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS II USM 1/50 sec at f/2.8 ISO 200 190mm

There are brides and there are stunning brides. Jessie no doubt falls into that latter of those two categories without a doubt. But now you have a stunning bride and you have a good camera and more so a great lens, you still need a few more ingredients for a special shot. We need Jessie to give us a good look, something different. We already have gotten the smiles, the tears at the altar, but I want that one “something a little different” shot. So here we go with the waiting… While we’re waiting for Jessie to smile let’s talk about lighting.
Ok so this wedding was taking place in a small park that had a heavy canopy of high top trees. The weather was what one would consider not so optimal for a wedding. It was heavy overcast that at times would change to mild but we never really seen the sun and about an hour before the ceremony it started to drizzle and then a heavy drizzle. Perfect lighting! Yes it was perfect for me. Ok hold on… Because here it comes, the big cliché… “Photography is all about the lighting” I hear that statement all the time and some try to make it sound do prolific. However it is so true. But on this day with the canopy of trees and the overcast it was as if the whole sky was a giant Westcott soft box. Hardly a shadow to be found, although I did have my flash ready for those moments when you need some light to make a face standout. The diffused light was perfect for me and I used it to my advantage.
This shot was the perfect example of what I’m describing, hardly a shadow and it was shot with no flash. And then it happened, Jessie turned to look at her new husband with this almost blank & calm look on her face. I shot three times and one of those shots produced this image that I felt was a little of the beaten path of your standard wedding photo, but a good image nonetheless. I made about 5 different versions from black & white to color with white, vignette, black vignette and no vignette. Amazingly enough there is a mild natural highlight on her face that (like all highlights) draws the viewer’s eye to the center of her face. All in all I personally love the shot and gauging by the “likes” from my Facebook page it must be better than average. When I get “likes” from people whom very rarely hit a “like” I know something has really caught their eye.

Shot in available light on a Canon T1i with an EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS II USM

1/50 sec at f/2.8 ISO 200 190mm

7 thoughts on “Jessie

  1. Man, this is positively fantastic. There’s enough space for breathing in the upper right, the look is perfect, and the gentle white washout keeps the black hair and jacket from pulling the attention away from the bride.

    Like

  2. Hey thanks Mark, thank you very much. I could crop out her husband, but I thought it gave more meaning to her facial expression to see that she was actually looking at someone. As for the edit: just a few tiny make up blemishes where she got hit with rain drops. They were corrected in Photoshop, the rest was done in Lightroom.

    Like

  3. Funny thing here about this shot: FYI I’m not the wedding photographer, but rather I am the caterer. One can only hope the wedding photographer got better shots than the caterer lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

