Somebody ought to take his camera away… better yet beat him with it.

1/2000 sec at f/4.0 ISO 200 67mm EF 24-105mm f4L IS USM

1/2000 sec at f/4.0 ISO 200 67mm
EF 24-105mm f4L IS USM

Wow! I had such a fun time the other day. I had the chance to board a boat at New Rochelle, NY and tour the NYC water ways. About a six hour trip aboard the Klondike IX, a 100 foot boat powered by 3 motors. Members of three separate Thai groups were there, one of which my wife belongs to, the THAINEPA. It was an awesome opportunity to take some nice memorable photographs, both personal and for the group. And to my surprise I even had a chance to go in the wheelhouse with the captain and photograph him at work. This also lead to me being able to do a short photo shoot for the captain and crew once we returned from the tour. I’ll blog about that at a later date because that is a topic for another post I have planned for next week.
So yes we all had fun and at journeys end we were tired and wanted to go home. Your most likely thinking I’m going to go on and on about how fun it was to be on the boat and all that jazz. But no… sorry, again that topic will come up in a later post. What I want to talk about is the unexpected. The “when you very least expect it” unexpected.
So after six hours of being on a boat with a bunch of happy and some drunken people I was ready to head for home like a wounded warrior. I had been shooting with a Canon 6D all day, switching between a 24-105 and the stately 70-200 lenses. Once back at the dock I waited while the crew emptied the boat and cleaned up a bit, so I could then get their photo shoot done. While waiting for them to assemble I was going over the days images I knew I had on my memory cards and to be honest I wasn’t thrilled. Yes I had great shots of my friends and strangers, I had shots of the captain at work and I had awesome scenery from NYC. But I always want that one strange face, or very interesting face. I do consider myself a “Lifestyles” photographer so I want and interesting shot of an interesting face. You’re probably thinking what is wrong with this guy… he’s on a boat touring one of the biggest cities in the world… for six hours no less and he didn’t get one good shot that exited him. Somebody ought to take his camera away… better yet beat him with it. Why he is not even worthy to have a camera. But “yes” that is how I felt.
So now the crew has assembled and we are waiting for the captain. See you can’t rush the captain because… well he’s the captain. So Captain Pete arrives and I get some really nice group photos that are website worthy for sure. So now I start packing everything up and I have to get to the parking area where my wife and our friends are waiting. Waiting for me, the photographer and I always feel guilty when this happens. Also I’m grateful that they are so understanding and patient. So as I walk down the gangplank I see a man gathering the trash bags that were from our boat. He turns and looks at me and I instantly knew I had my “interesting” photo. I stopped and looked him right in the eye and said “how’s it going today” he replied “I’m fine”. I then held up my camera and asked “would you mind if I took photo of you.” “Why not at all he replied” and I raised the camera took one nice shot (I think). I thanked him and walked ok. I knew I had my interesting shot, and then I was happy like a little girl. 

Leave a Reply

