Just A Quick Thought… (Yes, I was a smart ass in third grade.)

Black Diamond Jet Team 1/4000 sec at f/2.8 ISO 100 200mm

Black Diamond Jet Team Lehigh Valley International Airport
1/4000 sec at f/2.8 ISO 100 200mm

 

Just a thought… when I was a small child adults would ask us children; What do you want to do when you grow up? From boys there would be answers like a fireman, an astronaut or maybe a policeman. I can remember in third grade Miss Dilts (god rest her soul) going around the room and asking this question and really digging your brain for answers. I remember a few boys saying that they wanted to be a farmer “just like my father.” Really I can remember it like it was yesterday… Wait a minute… come to think of it I can’t remember yesterday. So ok so let’s just say I remember it very well. I remember the girl Karen sitting next to me explaining how she wanted to be a doctor like her father. I remember one young man saying he was going to be a pilot and he did. He grew up and entered into the air force and became a fighter pilot. When she asked me I said I want to travel around the world. And in a way I have, I found a lovely wife in Southeast Asia and life’s not over yet so who knows. I remember Miss Dilts saying “that’s it travel around the world, that is not a job.” I said “but you asked me what I want to do, you did say anything about a job.” (Yes, I was a smart ass in third grade.)

Not to sound sarcastic but I will… I wonder if there ever was a child who dreamed of growing up to be a blight on society like a Kardashian (it pays better than a doctor or attorney) or to become a tool like Ryan Seacrest. Or do any children aspire to be like Al Sharpton or Chris Christie. Just wondering…

Leave a Reply

