Understanding Posing (This is what separates the pretty girls from the models. )

Nicole Gallagher "working it." Negative space between the arms and body, between the legs and well pronounced triangles with in the negative space.

Nicole Gallagher “working it.” Negative space between the arms and body, between the legs and well pronounced triangles with in the negative space.

So what makes a good pose? What makes a great pose? For those who don’t know there really is work that goes into posing and making a pleasing photo. When I say “pleasing” I am referring to when a person looks at an image and the unconscious mind determined that there is a pleasing quality to the photo and tells our brain “hey… I like this.” Of course if it is in the realm of advertising this is what helps sell the product or service that is being portrayed in the ad. Let’s face it… pleasing sells. First you must understand that there is a formula to how our mind sees or looks at an image. Now please just stop and think about what I just said. “There is a formula.” Now think about how you can make pleasing images if you knew that formula. And if you are a photographer reading this I know what you’re thinking. Yeah, yeah, yeah… I know the rule of thirds and the leading lines and the rule of odds and blah, blah, blah. But that is not at all what I’m referring to here. While yes, you need to know your basic composing rules; and why? So you can break them. Yuck… that has been said too many times. No what I’m referring to comes from a much more in-depth level of the mind. In Vincent Versace’s book “Welcome to Oz” he breaks it all down and unravels the formula. I’m by no means a pro at this but I have accepted and understood Mr. Versace’s teaching and really work hard to incorporate this in my work. It is amazing to think that not only do you have the ability to create a pleasing image but you (the creator) have the ability to take the viewer’s eyes on a little journey and lead them through the image right to where you want them. I will not go into all the details of how to create that journey for like me, you can learn that by reading Mr. Versace books and if you do decide to dive into the world of Vincent Versace be prepared to go to a realm of photography that is deep, real deep.

So “The Dance Aesthetics” is what takes one’s eyes on a little journey and if you edit using a formula rather than just saying “ah this will look good” or “I’ll just use that same ole preset” … well now you are on your way to making great images.

So let’s get back to posing. This is what separates the pretty girls from the models. For me personally when I shoot with a model for the very first time and she can give good poses, direction or no directions doesn’t really matter to me. As long as she can make a pleasing pose in my image, I can then do the rest when I edit. I can then take the viewer where I want them to go. So for me it is not so much how pretty or good looking a model is that makes me want to work with her. After all we know… (Say it with me) beauty is in the eye of the beholder. But making a good pose takes skill. I want to see negative space between the arms and body, also between the legs. Triangles! I want to see good crisp well pronounced triangles incorporated into the poses. I want to see curves and flowing lines. So again I’m not here to write out all the word by word instructions for posing. But I am here to say that it is all about the posing and if you want to be a great model or a great photographer you need to understand posing and understand what the mind’s eye sees when it views an image.

Both of the models in these photos have good posing. Some days are better than others, it is a craft and an art and it can be honed to a razor sharp edge.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

