Kendall in Red (I always try to have something to fall back on… )

Kendall in Red

Kendall in Red

I love this image that came at the very end of a photo shoot I had done last Sunday with teen model Kendall Strampel. We had worked our way through three or four different looks and just as we were ready to call it a day I pulled out a beautiful deep red piece of fabric. So the result of a little impromptu piece of fabric resulted in this nice image. I always try to have something to fall back on just in case wardrobe fails or as in this case, just to have a little fun.  I almost always carry several pieces of solid color fabric. I say “almost” because there have been times when I forgot to bring it to the shoot. But now it stays in my case that carries the softboxes so it is always there if I need it. On this particular day I was just having fun and I wanted to see what Kendall would create. It can actually make a very nice exercise for creativity. Give a model an object and ask her to pose with it. Or as I did here, a piece of cloth. So in the end it may not be the best image ever created and it is far from my worst and what I like most is that is organic and “in the moment.”

1/100 sec at f/8.0 ISO 100 120mm

1/100 sec at f/8.0 ISO 100 120mm

Leave a Reply

