Photo of The Day (it is a monochrome day)

1/160 sec at f/3.2 ISO 50 165 mm with on camera flash set to ETTL.

1/160 sec at f/3.2 ISO 50 165 mm with on camera flash set to ETTL.

Today’s photo of the day is just a candid brown & white edit of lovely Alyssa. I have always been a big fan of brown & white edits (as I call them). While I do like to see landscapes in more of an actual “black & white” edit I most often choose a brown & white or monochrome edit for a face. And being a big fan of darker skin tone I feel the brown & white lends a truer feel to the image.

So here we have Alyssa standing in a shady area with a brightly lit area behind her. The area behind her is actually a very pretty scene, with a fountain rising up from a lake, bright blue skies and trees. I chose the shade for even light on her face and with the camera set to “manual” I exposed the scene for the background and let the flash ETTL choose the light for her face. Because it is “on camera” flash it is kind of flat and even, I’ll admit a softbox would have been better if angled to one side a bit.

Canon 6D with my all time favorite (pry it from my cold dead hands) EF70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM lens 1/160 sec at f/3.2 ISO 50 165 mm with on camera flash set to ETTL.

Leave a Reply

