Testing My EF70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM (after returning from Canon Pro Services.

1/100 sec at f/6.3 ISO 50 200mm

1/100 sec at f/6.3 ISO 50 200mm

I spent the afternoon testing my EF70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM after getting it back from Canon Pro Services. All seems to be good. I used my class ring as a test subject. f/6.3 & F/7.1 are the sweet spot for this lens and racked out to 200mm is always a nice place to be.

It was a very rainy day here in NJ and I decided to spend the afternoon testing the lens as well as my new Induro AT214 tripod and this was also a lighting test for lighting rings on a black glass surface. I know it sounds easy and really it wasn’t all that hard. I started with natural light, but I ended up opting for the 24″x24″ Westcott softbox with a Canon 430EXII flash set to ETTL. Edits started in Lightroom CC and then over to Photoshop CC and back to Lightroom. My only satisfaction was I could not get a clean reflection in the glass. I was using my tablet to place the ring on and I guess the depth of the glass refrained from giving me the clean and clear reflection. But I think the rest of the image is awesome.

Class Ring 2

1/100 sec at f/6.3 ISO 50 200mm

Leave a Reply

