A Day At the Iconic Steel Stacks (If it said “Bethlehem Steel” it was made by “real” American workers.)

Five Bracket HDR f/16 ISO 50 75mm

Five Bracket HDR f/16 ISO 50 75mm

 

I spent several hours out at the “Steel Stacks” in Bethlehem Pennsylvania yesterday. It was actually quite an interesting day. When I left my home in New Jersey to make the 50 minute drive I had blue sky with lots of big white fluffy clouds. And having used my sun calculation app I knew I could get some really nice late day shots with dramatic skies. I arrived early so I could walk around and check things out. I was disappointed to see that as I arrived the sky tuned to just a clear blue with no clouds at all. Blue is good, but blue with those high white clouds would have been so much better.

In my travels trekking around the plaza I met up with a video crew shooting a cooking show for world-renowned Austrian chef Erwin Cooks. With him was Philadelphia musician Alex Meixner. Erwin is in the Lehigh Valley filming a cooking show and Alex was providing music for the show. Really nice guys as were the crew members I had talked with earlier in the day. We exchanged social media links and websites before we parted.

I also met a wonderful lady from Australia who had lived in Bethlehem when she was six years old. Now at 56 years old she comes back to visit Bethlehem and was really happy to see the Stacks still standing. Her father was an engineer who worked in Bethlehem. She was very awe-struck to see one of her father’s friends in a historical photo posted at the Steel Stacks. We had a great conversation and she too got to meet and talk with the chef and musician.

So as the sun was fading and the even light was quickly approaching I left our friendly get together and set out to capture what I came for. Sadly enough I did not capture what I wanted and that was to get the stacks with a dramatic sky. Sure I could Photoshop it in but I wanted something organic. The good news is… I get to go back another day.

For those who do not know the Steel Stacks of Bethlehem are an iconic reminder of how great the USA once was when it came to manufacturing raw materials and the power of engineering. These stacks and this foundry produced raw iron & steel that literally built the USA and the world. These stacks saved us from the perils of WWI & WWII… These stacks represent what the USA used to be “hard working people that produced something great” not pansy pencil pushers or keystroke smackers that we have become. If it said “Bethlehem Steel” it was made by “real” American workers.

Leave a Reply

