Scouting Autumn Photoshoot Locations (Princeton Battlefield Park)

Colonnade at Battlefield Park.

Colonnade at Battlefield Park.

 

Autumn is almost upon us and I have been scouting locations for autumn shoots. Yesterday I traveled to Princeton, New Jersey to check out the Battlefield Park. It is not a spectacular place by any stretch of the imagination, but it is very rich in American history. It was the battle of Princeton that was the end of George Washington long winter and a huge turning point for the American Revolution. Ok now that you have had your history lesson…

Battlefield Park consists of a large open area with Mercer Road running through the center. On one side is the “Clark House” that was used as a field hospital for the battle and on the other side is an open field with a “colonnade” or portico. And behind the portico is a monument for 15 unknown British and American soldiers. The portico or colonnade as it is called has its own history. It was first used as an entrance to a building in Philadelphia and then it was moved to Mercer Mansion and served as the entrance to the mansion. When the mansion was demolished it was moved to the battlefield and erected as a monument to represent the entrance to the Revolution… or at least that is what I derived from the plaques posted. I feel I need to give that information to the reader because otherwise you would be as perplexed as me as to why the hell are there four white columns standing in the middle of a field… make no sense unless you know the reason.

The colonnade is a great place for a photo shoot. While I was scouting on Saturday I had seen a wedding shoot taking place. I wanted to do some HDR but the sun was too harsh and the wedding party was there. So I retreated (pardon the pun). I woke on Sunday and it was foggy and gray sky. I waited for the fog to lift and I found the park lifeless, perfect for me to check out the colonnade and get some nice HDR images that I will use as backgrounds for Photoshop composites.

Furthermore I still want to use the colonnade for a photo shoot and I’m going to contact the park and get all the info I need about permits and permissions. We’ll see what happens.

20150920-_MG_0243-Edit 20150920-_MG_0310-Edit

 

Leave a Reply

