Happy Birthday Nicole ( it was fun, it was challenging and I felt in the end we came away with some nice images.)

Nicole Gallagher - Hair & Makeup by Megan Motter

Nicole Gallagher – Hair & Makeup by Megan Motter

I like to wish Nicole a big happy birthday. We had so much fun earlier this year with the “butterfly” shoot as I called it. Nicole’s idea of recreating photographer Sam Jones’ album cover of Emmy Rossum’s “Sentimental Journey” was an outstanding idea for a studio project shoot. Hairstylist and makeup artist Megan Motter joined us and brought her amazing talent to the project. So why do something like this? Hey… I say why not, it was fun, it was challenging and I felt in the end we came away with some nice images. I think for me the biggest challenge was deciding on the final Hue for the image. Having never actually seen the real image of Sam Jones, I was just going off of images we had found online and given the variations of color from website to website and depending on whether it was being viewed on a monitor or a tablet or phone the color was always different. So what you see here is my final choice.

No we all know bigger is better… when it comes to prints and because the final crop was square to emulate an album cover I ordered a 20×20 for myself. I loved it so much that I thought it would be nice to send one to Nicole for her birthday, and she too was so happy to see it arrive as a surprise gift.

Once again “Happy Birthday Nicole.”

Leave a Reply

