Create You Own Universe ( equated Photoshop fun to my childhood days when we would sit on the living room floor with crayons and coloring books.)

It wasn’t here yesterday; it was born today because you created it. Your mind and your skills and your ambition all allowed it to become part of our world.

It wasn’t here yesterday; it was born today because you created it. Your mind and your skills and your ambition all allowed it to become part of our world.

It really is a lot of fun to sit down and create something. After receiving the December issue of Photoshop User magazine a few days ago, I was flipping through picking and choosing what articles I would like to read that night, when I came across Corey Barker’s “Down & Dirty” article on “make eye-catching composite with iPhone shots.” It made me stop and think back to my beginning days in Photoshop, a time when I never really knew what I was doing, I didn’t know how to retouch or edit images that well at all. So I would spend a lot of time editing meaningless photos and turning them into something… well a little less meaningless… or so I thought. But this really was a great time of learning for me and I really had a lot of fun. I equated Photoshop fun to my childhood days when we would sit on the living room floor with crayons and coloring books. Even as a kid I remember that activity to be very relaxing.

So seeing Corey’s article reminded me that I haven’t sat down in a while and just created something fun. While I am always working in Photoshop editing portraits and creating composites it has been a while since I have sought out a seemingly meaningless photo and “juked it up.”

So this is a composite, less somebody think I really did capture this beautiful scene. The main image is a rather meaningless image from August 13, 2015 when I spent the whole night out trying to capture shooting stars during a meteor shower. This image was shot just be for sunrise at the end of my all night fun. Of course I had many of these “meaningless” images with no meteor… or nothing really. But I saved a few of them because as a composite creator I always have that thought that “well maybe someday I can use that image” and today was that day.

Corey Barker being the supreme master that he is created his image from iPhone shots to make wallpaper for his phone. My creation however was fabricated from the above mentioned image and then using the effects that Mr. Barker lays out in his article. Lots of fun and a nice new desktop background.

I love Photoshop User magazine, content is relevant and in this day of “everything is online” I still like carrying the magazine around and reading it in my free time… plus it looks so cool to actually read a magazine, I feel so “worldly” lol.

Leave a Reply

