Photo of The Day (working with split toning and compositing)

Nixlot Dameus powerlifter/bodybuilder.  1/125 sec at f/7.1 ISO 50 50mm

Nixlot Dameus powerlifter/bodybuilder. 1/125 sec at f/7.1 ISO 50 50mm

 

Making a composite with chalk floating in the air is no easy task. But I have learned to overcome the problem with the help of fog brushes. Still it is no easy task at all. Like a previous composite where my mimesis was a veil I just keep trying different things. Sometimes it means using a plugin like Topaz ReMask 5, saving the image and running it through the plugin again. I have other ways, sometimes I can create the illusion that you (the viewer) is looking through the material, smoke, fog or in this case chalk. Capturing the image was not very hard at all, but I will admit that it took about 5 to 6 tries to get the image we wanted. The hard part about the capture was letting the plume of dust expand, but not too much. So it was a little bit of a timing issue. Camera settings were my standard studio settings of 1/125 second at f/7.1 or 8 ISO 50 50mm prime lens (although the 50mm is not typical)

So the final is a composite with a little of both the real chalk and some created chalk. Then to take it more towards an illustrative side I did some split toning. In the end I’m happy with the way the image turned out and I’m sure Nixlot will like it too. I think it falls into my 2016 goal for “creating images with impact” so I’m happy.

Leave a Reply

