All American Boy (I like diversity in my portfolio; I do not want to be a photographer that just shoots one kind person)

1/125 sec at f/9 ISO 50 50mm Model Ryan McNally

1/125 sec at f/9 ISO 50 50mm Model Ryan McNally

Best part of photographing people is… you get to meet people. And yes we all know each and every human being is different, but I find it fun and I really enjoy meeting people. So a few days back I had Ryan McNally in the studio and it was a lot of fun. Ryan is out of the Army and ready to hit the ground running. We had a great test shoot and I know you will see more of Ryan in the coming months. When looking for a “project model” as I call them, I must first do a test shoot. I’m looking for something about the model that will make me want to work with them again and it might not always be the same for each model. For some it could be their ability to pose on command or it could be their eagerness to create, for others it might be just a feeling I get when working with them. But for each model there has to be some (for lack of a better word) “magic” and Ryan has that magic.

I like diversity in my portfolio; I do not want to be a photographer that just shoots one kind person or one color of person, or race, sex, genera ect… Sure they are all people, but I want my portfolio to reflect what I like and that is all kinds of people. I want to get just as much attention from a stellar shot of a stunning model like LaydeeFly Reyes, the youthful beauty of Kendall or the man collecting trash on the dock in NYC.

So Ryan has that magic, he is eager, motivated and focused. He has that “all American boy” look and I can’t wait to create some great images with him in the near future.

Leave a Reply

