Heading Off To Thailand (…After 17 years it might be time to move on.)

_mg_4708-2untitled-edituntitled-edit-2

I will be heading off to Thailand on November 23rd and staying for 24 days. While the focus of my trip will be to spend time with my family and to take care of personal affairs I will spend time on photography. My wife being a Thai lady still has a small house in Thailand and she travels back every year. Myself while I would love to travel there every year and stay for six months, at this time in my life I cannot do that. So I have been on an “every other year” schedule. Most people who know me personally know that besides photography I also have a catering business and I drive school bus for the local district. While I really like driving a school bus, this year they are denying my 15 day “unpaid” leave of absence due to being shorthanded for sub-drivers. Well… while I understand their situation “that is not my problem that is theirs.” Simply put… “I think it is time to re-think the bus driving job” and possibly call it a memory. After 17 years it might be time to move on.

So with all that said; yes I will visit Ko Chang in the Gulf of Thailand, I will spend time around Bangkok and most of all I will be up in the farmland of the Kalasin province. I will visit my favorite food shops and roadside chicken BBQ places. When I mention traveling to Thailand to people, most often the reaction is either “wow Thailand I would like to go there.” Or it is “Oh yeah I love Thailand.” Either way I have never gotten a bad reaction. But at the same time both of those reactions are based on the idea of travel and vacation and rightfully so because many people from all over the world like to travel to Thailand for “holiday” as the rest of the world refers to “vacation” as “holiday.”

However for me it never really seems like a vacation or holiday in the traditional way and I think that is because there is family there. Example; most Americans who travel to Hawaii never see family there; they go for the “get away.” For me Thailand has become a place where I will live for 24 days and in the future it will be longer. I will be with family and friends and I will visit familiar places and some days just hang out in the village and stay around the house. Now of course I will seek out new places that I have never been before and I will take some day trips, but just being with my family there is what makes me the most happy. Sure we see each other all the time on Skype or Facebook messenger but it’s that act of sitting together and having dinner or lunch or just going shopping.

As for photography I know there is always something interesting just waiting to be captured. Being up in the farmland is such a great feeling… I can’t wait.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

